Skip to Content
Call Us Today! 904-638-3134

Different Types of Alimony


There are several types of alimony a judge can order during a divorce:

  • Temporary Alimony is paid while the divorce is still pending.
  • Permanent Alimony is paid indefinitely, unless one of the parties dies or the spouse receiving support remarries. This type of alimony is common when the parties were married for a long time.
  • Rehabilitative Alimony is paid while one of the parties acquires new job skills, education or obtains employment. Once the spouse has gotten a job or becomes financially self-sufficient, the payments usually stop.
  • Lump Sum Alimony is paid just once. Lump sum alimony is common in highly contentious divorce cases or if one of the spouses has a terminal illness.
  • Bridge-the-Gap Alimony is designed to help one of the spouses until they are able to get back on their feet and financially support themselves. This type of alimony is usually paid for two years.

How Alimony is Determined

Judges do not have a specific formula for determining alimony. Instead, they take a number of factors into consideration, including, but not limited to:

  • The duration of the marriage
  • The standard of living the couple shared during the marriage
  • Each spouse's current level of income
  • If one spouse stayed home to raise children
  • If one spouse worked while the other pursued higher education or a professional license
  • If child support is also being paid

Contact us today to get started on your case.